Photography Competition 2018

Photo Competition Winner

The Art Department of Ampleforth College, have recently held their inaugural Photography Competition. It was open to everyone in the school, including all staff. 

The theme for 2018 was ‘Black and White’ to be interpreted in any way.  Each person was allowed three photos per entry.

With prizes and runners up for Year 9, Year 10/11, Year 12/13, staff and the promise of winners and runners being framed and displayed in the Main Hall, there were over 150 entries of exceptional quality and creativity, and the professional photographer and Old Amplefordian, Adrian Myers (A90), had the hard task of picking prize winners, which took place in February. 

In March, some of the exhibition was displayed in the Main Hall, featuring the work of the 12 best entries.

The winners were Emma Welton (Years 12 and 13); Cici Hornyold Strickland (Years 10 and 11); Henry Wakeham Dawson (Year 9) and Mr Brendan Anglim (Staff).

Runners-up were Mrs Clare Moses, Mr Tim Walsh, Cosima Franchetti, Jordan Chapman, James Ogden, Maud Bridel, Mani Desai and Anna Scott.

Highly Commended were Mrs Rachel Dale, Lou Bore, Eliza Corrie and Cecilia Wishart.

Congratulations to everyone who took part: the standard was very high and as you can see here there is clearly lots of talent out there.  We will look forward to next year’s competition.